CJN Swears In 8 New Supreme Court Justices


Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Justice Tanko Mohammed on Friday swore in eight new justices of the Supreme Court.

This takes the number of justices of the apex court from 12 to 20.

President Muhammadu Buhari appointed the justices following their nomination by the National Judicial Council (NJC).

They were confirmed by the Senate on October 13.

The new justices took their oath of office and oath of allegiance to the Nigerian Constitution in a brief ceremony at the Supreme Court’s main court located in the Three Arms Zone, Abuja.


Afterward, they joined their 12 already seated seniors on the bench.

The new justices were elevated from the Court of Appeal.

They are: Justices Lawal Garba (North West), Helen Ogunwumiju (South West), Abdu Aboki (North West), and M. M. Saulawa (North West).

Others are Justice Adamu Jauro (North East), Samuel Oseji (South South), Tijani Abubakar (North East) and Emmanuel Agim (South South).



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.