Leicester City win Premier League title for the first time


What formerly looked like a dream is now reality for Leicester City as they have emerged new champions of the English Premier League following the 2-2 draw played out by their closest rivals, Tottenham Hotspur, against Chelsea on Monday night.

The Foxes have an unassailable seven points gap at 77points while Spurs have 70 with two games left to play for the season.

Spurs were initially looking like they would extend the title chase as Harry Kane and Son Heung-Min had given Spurs a 2-0 lead at half time but goals from Gary Cahill and Eden Hazard ensured that the Foxes completed one of the greatest fairytales in the history of English football.

The Foxes have surpassed all teams this year with an exceptional record of 22 wins and only three defeats, two of which came against Arsenal, en route to the title.

After 30 years in management Claudio Ranieri has finally lifted his first top flight league title and the famous trophy will be lifted by Captain Wes Morgan following the clash with Everton at the King Power Stadium on Saturday.