David Mark sworn in as senator for the 6th time


The Senate in an uncommon solidarity gave the immediate past President of the Senate, Senator David Mark, a standing ovation as he was sworn in for a record sixth time as a senator.

Mark was sworn in at exactly 11am on Wednesday in the hallowed chamber by the President of the Senate, Dr. Abubakar Bukola Saraki, after taking the traditional oath of office and allegiance.

Shortly after the swearing in, senators at the plenary session rose in solidarity with Mark as they took turn to hug and exchange banners with him.

Mark had expressed appreciation to his constituents and Nigerians alike for the support and prayers that helped him win the Benue South Senatorial District rerun poll on February 20, 2016.

Mark is currently the longest serving senator in Nigeria.