Home News You And Your Wife Must Return The Vehicles In Your Possession –...

You And Your Wife Must Return The Vehicles In Your Possession – Osun Govt Sends Marching Orders To Oyetola


The Asset Recovery Panel of the Osun State Government has on Friday ordered the former Governor of the State, Gboyega Oyetola, his wife, Kafayat Oyetola and other former political appointees to immediately return official vehicles in their possession.

The Panel gave the directive on Friday in Osogbo via a statement signed by Olawale Rasheed, the spokesperson to the Osun State Governor, Ademola Adeleke.

The Asset Recovery Panel headed by Bashiru Tokunbo Salam revealed that the vehicles are valued at N2.9 billion, adding that the former officials had gone away with the various models of vehicles without any legal basis for such action.

The statement disclosed that, “As at today, there is no law that authorised any elected or appointed officials to go with state vehicles after completing their tenure of office.

The Chairman of the Asset Recovery Committee, Dr BT Salami reported that due diligence has been conducted and the committee has concluded that the affected past officials should return government vehicles in their possession.


This is the first batch of vehicles to be retrieved. We will soon come up with the second batch. All affected officials should return the vehicles in their possession immediately to avoid coercive procedures for recovery of state assets.”

The panel also revealed that in the list of affected officials, Governor Oyetola alone has 11 vehicles ranging from Lexus Jeep, Toyota Prado jeeps and assorted models of costly vehicles. The wife, Mrs Kafayat also has in her possession several brand of governments vehicles which were taken away against provisions of the law.

Other former officials listed include immediate past SPECIAL Adviser on Security, former Chief Details, former Personal Assistant to the Governor, former special assistants to the Governor, former Senior special assistants, former special advisers, former local government caretaker chairmen and members, former board chairmen and members, former Chief of Staff, former Deputy Chief of Staff, former Deputy Governor , former Secretary to the State Government, former commissioners among others.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Exit mobile version