NUPENG establishes marine divisions to fight sea pirates, others in Akwa Ibom


The Nigerian Union of Petroleum and Natural Gas workers, NUPENG, in Akwa Ibom State, has established a marine unit in Oron and Ibeno Local Government Areas of the state respectively, to provide intelligence information to intensify the fight against sea pirates, pipeline vandals and oil thieves.

Unit Branch National Chairman, Mr. Best Ose, who disclosed this on Friday, explained that with the establishment of the marine divisions, the activities of sea pirates, pipeline vandalism and other forms of criminal activities on the country’s waterways would be reduced.

He said the maritime units established in both LGAs, would help Marine Equipment and Oil Suppliers, MEOS, monitor all forms of illegal activities being carried out within Nigeria’s territorial waters, including those of sea pirates.

Urging members of the newly inaugurated marine units to abide by the tenets of NUPENG byelaws and constitution so that they would benefit fully from the union’s programmes, Ose said, “With the establishment in Oron and Ibeno, which are our major waterways, we are confident that the newly inaugurated members of the unit will be able to provide intelligence information about the operations of sea pirates, crude thieves and oil spill.

“This will help us give security agencies timely information about the activities of criminals on our waterway,” the Chairman restated.

Trade Club

Senior Assistant Secretary, NUPENG, Mr. Lawrence Alagbara, urged the newly inaugurated units to always reflect on the workings of NUPENG, stressing that of the six branches of NUPENG, MEOS had the most fortunate prospect for survival, even as he identified frequent travelling and training as some of the packages that would accompany the job.

The secretary also commended all NUPENG national officials, the MEOS executives and the others who had been inaugurated in Oron and Ibeno. He said the achievement was another milestone in the history of NUPENG’s marine.

“Some members of the Executive Council for Oron Unit include its chairman, Prince Thomas and secretary, Mr. Effiong Inyang, whereas for the Ibeno Executive Council, they include chairman, Mr. Ibok and secretary, Mr. Victor Edikpo,” Alagbara added.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.