Omicron: UK Remove Nigeria, Others From Red List


The United Kingdom has announced it is scrapping the red list for international travel from 4am Wednesday, December 15.

This was made known by the Secretary of Health, Sajid Javid, in the House of Commons.

According Javid, the travel red list for countries is no longer working in stopping the spread of new variant.

“So I can announce today that whilst we’ll maintain our temporary testing measures for international travel, we will be removing all 11 countries from the travel red list effective from 4am tomorrow,” he said.

Angola, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe are currently on the list.


This online newspaper reports that Transport Secretary, Grant Shapps, also took to Twitter to announce the lifting of the ban.

“From 4am on Weds 15 Dec, ALL 11 countries will be removed from England’s travel red. All current TESTING measures remain in place & will be reviewed in the first week of January,” he wrote.

“As always, we keep all our travel measures under review and we may impose new restrictions should there be a need to do so to protect public health.”



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.