4.3 C
New York
Monday, August 8, 2022
HomeBreaking NewsCanada Imposes Travel Ban On Nigeria Over Omicron

Canada Imposes Travel Ban On Nigeria Over Omicron

The Canadian government in the early hours of Wednesday imposed a travel ban on Nigeria following the two cases of the Omicron Variant detected in the country.

The North American country in the statement also banned nine other countries over the new COVID variant.

The affected countries are South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Botswana, Eswatini, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Nigeria, Malawi, and Egypt.

The Minister of Transport in the country, Omar Alghabra, said foreign nationals who had traveled to these listed countries in the last 14 days would be temporarily banned from entering Canada.

He further stated that Canadians and permanent residents who have been in the listed countries, even those who are fully vaccinated, must also be tested before entering Canada.


This is coming after the Nigeria Center for Disease and Control (NCDC) announced that two cases of Omicron variant had been detected in the country.

In a statement released and signed by its Director-General, Dr Ifedayo Adetifa, the NCDC said the two cases of the variant were discovered through genomic sequencing.

The center added that the cases were linked to two passengers who entered Nigeria from South Africa last week.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments

Onuegbu Chuks Theophilus on Mikel Obi quits Super Eagles
Thomas H. Anderson on Roman Goddess_3
Oladimeji Emmanuel on Obama sends investors to Buhari