June 12 heroes: FG to honour Soyinka, Kokori, Nwosu, others


President Muhammadu Buhari will on Tuesday June 12 confer posthumous national honours on Chief M.K.O. Abiola as Grand Commander of the Federal Republic (GCFR), Chief Gani Fawehinmi as the Grand Commander of the Order of the Niger (GCON).

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Mr Boss Gida Mustapha, who said this last night in a statement said the president will also decorate Ambassador Babagana Kingibe with the Grand Commander of the Order of the Niger (GCON) at an investiture scheduled for the Conference Hall, State House, Aso Rock Villa, Abuja by10.00 am.

He listed members of the National Executive Committee (NEC) of the SDP including state chairmen and secretaries as at June 12, 1993; governors elected under SDP platform; former Senate Presidents – Iyorchia Ayu and Ameh Ebute and Speaker Agunwa Anekwe along with principal officers of the National Assembly elected under SDP platform.

Also are speakers of state assemblies elected under SDP platform, all chairmen of the state traditional councils from the six South-western states, Prof. Wole Soyinka, Mr. Femi Falana SAN, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Chief Bisi Akande, Ms. Ayo Obe and Bayo Onanuga of The News.

Others are Kunle Ajibade -Tempo, Nosa Igiebor of Tell, Kayode Komolafe -Media Hope 93, Senator Janathan Zwingina -DG Hope 93, Comrade Frank Ovie Kokori and Prof. Humphrey Nwosu.

He said others invited are Senate President Bukola Saraki, Speaker Yakubu Dogora, principal officers of the National Assembly, members of the Federal Executive Council and all state governors.