3 Nigerians make African Footballer of The Year crown shortlist + full list


Red-hot Nigeria and Manchester City striker, Kelechi Iheanacho, has been nominated to battle with 27 other stars for Glo-CAF African Footballer of the Year award.

Iheanacho will slug it out Super Eagles’ captain, John Mikel Obi, and the Leicester City new buy, Ahmed Musa, for the crown.
The wonder kid ended the 2015-16 season with eight Premier League goals and had the best goals-per-minute ratio of any player, averaging a goal every 93.9 minutes.

In all competitions, Iheanacho finished with a record of 14 goals and five assists from 35 appearances, although he only started 11 of these games.
His goals total also meant he ended the season as City’s third-highest scorer.
The striker has also replicated his form with the national team, scoring his fourth goal since his debut.

The award ceremony will take place at the International Conference Centre, Abuja on January 5, 2017.
This will be the third time that the city of Abuja will be hosting the event after hosting the inaugural edition in 2005 and the 2015 edition.

List of nominees for the award
1. Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Leicester City)
2. El Arabi Hillel Soudani (Algeria & Dinamo Zagreb)
3. Islam Slimani (Algeria & Leicester City)
4. Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon & Antalyaspor)
5. Benjamin Mounkandjo (Cameroon & Lorient)
6. Serge Aurier (Cote d’Ivoire & PSG)
7. Eric Bailly (Cote d’Ivoire & Manchester City)
8. Yao Kouasi Gervais ‘Gervinho’ (Cote d’Ivoire & Hebei Fortune)
9. Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Roma)
10. Mohamed El Neny (Egypt & Arsenal)
11. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Dortmund)
12. Andre Ayew (Ghana & West Ham)
13. Victor Wanyama (Kenya & Tottenham)
14. William Jebor (Liberia & Wydad Athletic Club)
15. Mehdi Benatia (Morocco & Juventus)
16. Hakim Ziyech (Morocco & Ajax)
17. John Obi Mikel (Nigeria &Chelsea)
18. Kelechi Iheanacho (Nigeria & Manchester City)
19. Ahmed Musa (Nigeria & Leicester City)
20. Cedric Bakambu (DR Congo & Villareal)
21. Yannick Bolasie (DR Congo & Everton)
22. Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)
23. Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli)
24. Keegan Dolly (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)
25. Itumeleng Khune (South Africa & Kaizer Chiefs)
26. Mbwana Samatta (Tanzania & Genk)
27. Aymen Abdennour (Tunisia & Valencia)
28. Wahbi Kahzri (Tunisia & Sunderland)
29. Dennis Onyango (Uganda &Mamelodi Sundowns)
30. Khama Billiat (Zimbabwe &Mamelodi Sundowns)