Indonesia waives visa for 79 extra countries


Indonesia has waived visa requirements for nationals from an extra 79 countries, thereby expanding its list of visa free nations to 169.

A statement from the Foreign Affairs Ministry said on Friday in Jakarta that the waiver was in continuation of government efforts to boost foreign visitor numbers.

It said the government has set a target to attract 20 million foreign tourists annually by 2019, as an effort to boost growth in the economy.
“Last year alone, 9.73 million tourists visited the Indonesia,” it said.
Another statement from the Cabinet Secretary said President Joko Widodo has signed a decree, granting visa-free entry to tourists who wish to travel in the country for 30 days.

It said the presidential decree came into effect once it is ratified, adding that the Legal and Human Rights Ministry authorised it on March 10.
The statement said that Australia is included in the list of countries after the country was mooted three times last year.

Australia requires foreigners to have visa to enter into the country.
In 2015, the Indonesian government expanded the list to 90 from 15 visa-free countries.